Softwares and Processes I use

There are several different ways I transfer my images when I have undertaken a commission for a customer. The method I use depends on the customer and the type of job. For example when I set up work days with Make-Up Artists (MUA) I tend to photograph up to ten different models in a day, for ten different MUAs. I offer 2 retouched images for £20, and very few usually want anymore than 2 images of a look. I use WeTransfer ( https://wetransfer.com/) to give each customer their images, as there are only usually 2 images I am sending, I can use WeTransfer for free (up to 2gb) so I don’t have to charge the client any more for the transferring of the images.

When I am working with a client that has booked me for a 2 hour photo shoot, such as a family session or new born session, I offer the images on a pen drive, and the price changes depending on whether the client would like to provide the pen drive themselves, or would like me to provide one. I like offering this to a client because I think it is nice for them to have the option.

When selecting images for clients, again it depends on what kind of commission I am working on. When working with the MUA’s, I create a contact sheet of the images (minus test shots or mistakes) and they send me back two reference numbers for the two images they would like retouching. When working on a family or new born type shoot, I decided the images the customers receive, as they tend to get around 15 to 20 images on the pen drive. I also send proofs over to the client as I edit, to check that everything looks how the customer wants it to.

Leave a comment