T&P Shutter Speed Experiment

What have I done?

I have frozen the dogs actions whilst he was catching the ball, I wanted to experiment for the purposes of my T&P project ‘All Bark And No Bite’ but I also wanted to experiment with my Canon 760D. Using a 55-300mm lens at 1/1000th of a second with a maximum aperture of f4.5. I am very happy with results of this shoot and I believe I achieved exactly what I set out to photograph.

What have I got from this?

From this shoot I now know how what shutter speed I need to use to completely freeze the dog mid-air, in order to capture his jump. In addition to this, freezing the dog running with his ears in the air bring a comedy element to the picture which is something I would like to achieve with this project, to show the fun and happiness of owning a dog. Also, if this photo were to be used as an advertisement for a animal shelter, I think this could be used as a positive funny photo to persuade people to adopt pets or to donate money.

What’s next?

Next is to test more shutter speeds but with my deadline being next week, I now have to decide which photos will be in my final body of work and which to leave out. However I think that these pictures, particularly of the dog jumping for the ball has strong elements of what I wanted to achieve with this project.

Leave a comment